Meet our

Board Members

Scalabrini Village Ltd is an incorporated body limited by guarantee.

The Scalabrini Village Ltd Board consists of individuals with extensive experience and qualifications in their specific area of expertise.

In the context of the Commonwealth Government’s reform agenda, The Board has determined that the sole focus of the organisation will be the achievement of excellence in the delivery of residential aged care.

Robin copy

Mr. Robin Freeman


Fr. Nacho

Fr Reinaldo-01-01-01-01

Fr. Reinaldo Vassoler


Mr. Paul Taranto


Ms. Jill Pretty


Mr. Robert Goaley


Mrs. Illana Halliday


Robin (Rob) Freeman is a consultant who offers strategic advice to aged care organisations

and supports executives in those organisations in a coaching role. 

For seven years until 2016, Mr Freeman was chief executive of Anglican Retirement Villages, a large provider of aged care and retirement services.  Before that Mr Freeman worked in executive roles with ASX listed manufacturing companies.  He started his working career as an accountant with Deloitte, the international financial services organisation, and was a partner there for 10 years.

Fr. Martin Ignacio Gutierrez (aka Fr Nacho); was born in Guadalajara, Jalisco – Mexico, on the 15th  of October 1969. Since July 1994, he belongs to the Pious Society of St Charles, known as Scalabrinians, instituted by Blessed John Baptist Scalabrini. 

Fr Nacho was ordained a scalabrinian priest on the 21st  of August 2004. Since the 22nd  of April 2005, he belong to the Australia-Asia Province named Saint Frances Xavier Cabrini (SFCP), covering six counties: Australia, Philippines, Taiwan, Indonesia, Japan, and Vietnam.

On the 11th  of July 2005, he was assigned to Indonesia to work as a vocational promoter and formator for six years. In April 2011, he was assigned to Cebu, Philippines, where he worked as director of the postulancy seminary for three years.  

On the 3rd of May 2014, he was assigned to work in the Archdiocese of Brisbane, Qld as chaplain of the Latin American Catholic community and as parish priest of Holy Spirit Parish in New Farm. Additionally, he had been serving as Vicar Provincial in the Australia-Asia Province from 2018 to 2021.

Since the 1st  of May 2021, Fr. Nacho has been serving the Scalabrinian missionary priests and brothers as their Provincial Superior in the same Australia-Asia Province. 

Catholic Priest of the Pious Society of St Charles (Scalabrinian Missionaries). Father Reinaldo is the current Provincial Councillor of the Scalabrinians.

Professional Australian Government career spanning 41 years including as an auditor and senior manager. Mr Taranto has over 30 years’ experience in aged care including 12 years as Director, Aged Care Branch New South Wales Office, Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing. Former Chairman and member of the Aged Care Planning Advisory Committee and is currently a Director and Advisor to other aged care organisations.

Jill Pretty is a Registered Nurse and holds a Degree in Nursing Management and a Masters in Nursing, majoring in Aged and Palliative Care. Jill also holds a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment. Jill was employed by Aged and Community Services NSW & ACT (ACS) for 15 years and held the position of Manager of Policy and Consultancy before being appointed as the Chief Executive Officer in 2008. Jill retired from ACS in September 2011 and commenced her own consultancy. Jill is a Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing and the Australian Association of Gerontology and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

A highly experienced and successful CEO, Chairman and Director based upon a track record of success in devising ,formulating and implementing corporate strategies across a range of businesses.

As Chair (from 2012 until retirement in 2019) of HCF one of Australia’s largest Health Insurers with over  1.7 million members and revenue in excess of $3.4 billion  Robert has placed much emphasis on strategy, risk, compliance, transparency and delivering value to members.

During this time Robert achieved major cultural and organisational transformational change to the business that introduced a modern society values based not-for-profit, successful, commercial business structure greatly respected by Governments, Regulators and peers.

Robert has held senior positions as Chair, Director, CEO and General Manager of numerous Organisations  over the last 30 plus years, including at HCF Health Insurance, HCF Life Insurance, Manchester Unity Health Fund, Manchester Unity Credit Union, Andrews Laboratories, Australian Health Insurance Association, Australian Friendly Societies Association, NSW Health Funds Association, NSW Friendly Societies Association, to name a few.

I bring excellent strategic skills and a wealth of experience in running business in a highly regulated arena  and would be honoured to assist Scalabrini in the challenging roads ahead.

Illana Halliday has her own consulting company specialising in performance improvement for individuals and organisations. She has worked in aged care for over 7 years, including as the CEO of Aged and Community Services NSW and ACT for over 5 years.

Illana has held senior executive positions for more than 30 years in NSW and Queensland public sector agencies and councils.

Illana is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration, awarded in recognition of her work in driving improvements in the collection and use of performance information and received an award as ‘the most Outstanding Advocate in Seniors Affairs in Australasia’ in 2015.